Pantheon of Skeptics

The Pantheon of Skeptics—a roster honoring late distinguished fellows of the Committee for Skeptical Inquiry (formerly CSICOP)—has been established, and twenty-seven outstanding scientists, scholars, writers, and investigators have been named to it.

The CSI(COP) executive council has long discussed how to keep before the public the names of the great, now-deceased skeptics who made extraordinary contributions to the causes of science and skepticism in the modern era. Some were already well established when CSICOP (the Committee for the Scientific Investigation of Claims of the Paranormal) was created in 1976 and became founding fellows; others were elected as fellows later.

The desire is to continue honoring these skeptics’ contributions and to provide a sense of history about the modern skeptical movement.

The Pantheon of Skeptics was created and the names chosen for it selected at a meeting of the CSI executive council in Denver, April 1–2, 2011. They will be listed permanently at CSI’s headquarters in Amherst, New York, and on its website.

Here are those chosen for the Pantheon of Skeptics:

George O. Abell

Steve Allen
entertainer, author, critic

Jerry Andrus
magician and inventor

Isaac Asimov
biochemist and science writer

Robert Baker

T.X. Barber

Barry Beyerstein

Bart J. Bok

Milbourne Christopher
magician and writer

Francis H. Crick
Nobel laureate biophysicist

L. Sprague Decamp
author and engineer

Martin Gardner
author and critic

Stephen Jay Gould
biologist and writer

D.O. Hebb

Sidney Hook

Leon Jaroff
senior science editor, Time magazine / founder, Discover magazine

Philip J. Klass
aerospace writer and engineer

Paul Kurtz
founder, Committee for Skeptical Inquiry & Skeptical Inquirer magazine / founder, Prometheus Books, the Council for Secular Humanism, and the Center for Inquiry

Paul MacCready
scientist, engineer, inventor

John Maddox
science editor

William V. Mayer

Walter Mccrone

Ernest Nagel

H. Narasimhaiah

W.V. Quine

Carl Sagan
astronomer and writer

Wallace Sampson
professor of clinical medicine at Stanford University

Glenn T. Seaborg
Nobel laureate chemist

B.F. Skinner

Victor Stenger
physicist and philosopher

Stephen Toulmin